

Selby District Scouts Annual General Meeting

11th June 2022 Tamarak Campsite

Decisions and Actions

1. Chairmans Welcome

- a. Warm welcome and thanks to everyone attending
- b. Registration form was passed around the meeting, record appended to the end of this document

2. Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting of the District Scout Council

- a. Accounts were not presented for FY20/21, see agenda item 4
- b. Proposed by Sean Hick
- c. Seconded by Keith Cartwright
- d. Approved

3. Presentation of the annual report and accounts (FY 21/22)

- a. The accounts had been circulated along with the annual report online ahead of the meeting
- b. An error was identified on closing balance on the Olympia accounts
- c. The Forbidden Corner trip was for Beavers, not Cubs
- d. Geoff agreed to follow up and amend
- e. Subject to these changes, the report and accounts were proposed by Linda Cartwright
- f. Seconded by Steven Sedman
- g. Approved

4. Presentation of the annual accounts (FY 20/21)

- a. Due to a change in treasurer, we were unable to present the accounts last year
- b. The accounts have been independently examined, and while there are no concerns with the accounts, we we're unable to present copies of the receipts in time for the examination, and a therefore a matter of concern was identified by the examiner.
- c. The accounts were proposed by Linda Cartwright
- d. Seconded by Keith Cartwright
- e. Approved

5. Formal adoption of POR 4.25 – Constitution of the Scout District

- a. There is no documented constitution for Selby District at hand, and as per POR 4.25 a, in the absence of a formally adopted constitution 4.25 applies. It is considered best practice to formally adopt a constitution and have this recorded in the minutes of the charity.
- b. The proposal is to formally adopt POR 4.25 as the constitution of Selby District Scouts, including any future revisions or amendments as published by the Scout Association.
- c. Proposed by Lloyd Latibeaudiere
- d. Seconded by Heather Gibson
- e. Approved

6. Agree the quorum of the District Scout Council

- a. As per POR 4.25 e iv, the AGM must agree a quorum for meetings of the District Scout Council.
- b. As attendance at meetings of the District Scout Council can be variable, a quorum of any fixed number cannot be relied upon.
- c. It is proposed to adopt the policy that proposals brought to a meeting of the District Scout Council will be deemed to have carried, provided a majority of those attending said meeting agree.
- d. Proposed by Dave Mann
- e. Seconded by Linda Cartwright
- f. Approved

7. Agree the guorum of the Board of Trustees (District Executive Committee)

- a. As per POR 4.25 e iv, the AGM must agree a quorum for meetings of the Board of Trustees
- b. There are typically 13 members of the Board of Trustees
- c. It is proposed to set the quorum at 7 for a meeting of the Board of Trustees
- d. Proposed by Dan Shipstone
- e. Seconded by Dave Mann
- f. Approved

8. Agree the number of members that may be elected to the Board of Trustees

- a. As per POR 4.25 e iv, the AGM must agree the number of members that may be elected to the Board of Trustees
- b. It is proposed that the number of members that may be elected is 3
- c. Proposed by Carl Gibson
- d. Seconded by Keith Cartwright
- e. Approved

9. Approval and election of members of the Board of Trustees (1 year terms)

- a. Trevor said thank you to the current set of trustees for their work over the last year
- b. As the current chair he has a conflict of interest so passed the chairmanship of the meeting to Carl for item 9c
- c. Approval of the District Commissioners nomination of District Chairman
 - i. Trevor Kell
 - ii. Carried by majority
- d. Election of the District Secretary
 - i. John McAtominey
 - ii. Proposed by Dave Mann
 - iii. Seconded by Keith Cartwright
 - iv. Approved

- e. Election of the District Treasurer
 - i. Geoff Stockill
 - ii. Proposed by Linda Cartwright
 - iii. The seconder was not recorded but multiple people raised their hand to second the election
 - iv. Approved
- f. Election of members of the District Scout Council to the Board of Trustees
 - i. Andy Freer
 - ii. Sarah McAtominey
 - iii. Steven Powell
 - iv. Carried by majority
- g. Approval of the District Commissioners nominations to the Board of Trustees
 - i. Linda Cartwright
 - ii. Sean Hick
 - iii. Carried by majority

10. Adoption of the Campsite Committee as a formal sub-committee of the Board of Trustees

- a. The current campsite committee have worked hard to maintain and develop the site, but the formal governance of the committee is not documented. Creating a permanent sub-committee establishes an appropriate governance framework and reporting lines for the committee, and the District, in line with Charity Commission and TSA best practice.
- b. The current committee is made up of 7 members, although there is no formal appointments process.
- c. It is proposed to create a sub-committee of the Board of Trustees with responsibility for the Tamarak Campsite, with a quorum of 4 members.
- d. Proposed by Carl Gibson
- e. Seconded by Dan Shipstone
- f. Approved

11. Election of 1 member to represent the District on the County Scout Council

- a. Carl Gibson
- b. Carried by majority

12. Appointment of an independent examiner for the coming financial year

a. We are not able to recommend a named examiner at this time. Members of the District are invited to suggest an independent examiner we could approach following the meeting.

13. Appointment & re-appointment of Presidents or Vice Presidents

- a. Mary Godwin
- b. Proposed by Lloyd Latibeaudiere
- c. Seconded by Heather Gibson
- d. Approved

14. AOB

a. No items we're requested

15. Closing remarks

- a. The Chairman thanked everyone for attending, and the trustees for their work over the last year, and to Carl for his leadership of the District
- b. Carl thanked everyone for attending, and for their hard work over the last year
- c. Neil Underwood, of Brayton Scout Group, and Deputy County Commissioner, made a speech on behalf of Max Butler, County Commissioner:

- i. Thank you for everything you are all doing here in Selby.
- ii. The county are very happy with the direction the district is going in under Carl's leadership
- iii. It is fantastic to hear that as a district you are energising Tamarack to make it the facility our young people need
- iv. We're excited to see how Selby will embrace the upcoming changes to how we operate in The Scouts
- v. We urge you all to work with your district teams, your groups, and with us at County to make sure that we don't take our eye off the ball delivering skills for life to young people while we transform our movement.
- vi. Change is always difficult but continuing to change with the times is what has ensured The Scouts remains relevant in society.
- vii. If anyone here in Selby is interested in getting involved in implementing these changes locally, please look out in your inboxes for contact from Phil our transformation lead.
- viii. Again, thank you for everything you are doing here in Selby you are all amazing!

[Meeting Ends]

Apologies Received

LEWIS AGAR-SIMMS

MARY GODWIN

JULIE FARLEY

SARAH MCATOMINEY

KATHERINE MORRISON

PAULA HESLOP

JON RIPLEY

RIA GILCHRIST

MATT THORNTON

Attendees

LINDA CARTWRIGHT **ANDY FREER** JOHN HODGE **CARL GIBSON** LLOYD LATIBEAUDIERE **KEITH CARTWRIGHT DAN SHIPSTONE DEBORAH LATIBEAUDIERE LUKE MARTIN DAVID MANN NEIL UNDERWOOD LUCY MANN** NIKKI HEDDERWICK **EILEEN HEALD DENISE MORROW EMILY HANKS** SEAN HICK **HOLLY WRIGHT** FREDDIE SMITH SOPHIE KENYON MICHAEL GILL **HEATHER GIBSON** STEPHEN SEDMAN STEPHEN IDLE JEN MAYNE TREVOR KELL **GLENN AXFORD** JOHN MCATOMINEY CHARLOTTE ARMSTRONG **GEOFF STOCKILL** KATH HODGE SUE CAINE

GEORGINA ARMSTRONG